The Province of Ulster Flag

province of ulster flag

Also called Ulster Flag (Nine Counties).

Not to be confused with the Ulster Flag (Six Counties).

Why two Ulster Flags? Well, it is simple.

Ulster traditionally was made up of nine counties. Six of these counties make up Northern Ireland while the other three are part of the Irish Republic.

The Ulster Flag (Nine Counties) is therefore the flag of the province of Ulster as it was in ages past while the Ulster Flag (Six Counties) is the flag of the six counties that make up Northern Ireland.

It is a composite flag made up of the cross of the De Burgh family and the Red Hand of Ulster, often associated with the O'Neill family, two of the most prominent families of Ulster.

Now that you know all about this flag, why don't you read about the other unofficial flags of Northern Ireland?

Unofficial Flags flown in Northern Ireland:

Saint Patrick's Saltire

Flag of Ireland

Independent Ulster Flag

Saint Andrew's Cross

Four Provinces Flag

Orange Order Flags

click tracking

Are you sure you know which is the Official flag of Northern Ireland?

Read about:

The Union Jack Flag

The Royal Standard Flag

The Ulster Flag (or Ulster 6 Counties flag or Red Hand Ulster Flag)

Return from the Province of Ulster Flag to Northern Ireland Flag

Return from Province of Ulster Flag to Northern Ireland Tourism Homepage